Special Effects Recording

Introduction

In this lesson, we will be looking into audio effects, similar to foley artists and their professions.

During this lesson, we discussed the special effects that can be created through sound and audio. For this, we discussed what foley artists were as a group and created a blog about it. (See on my blog page)

After that, Lee tasked us to create our own special effects using props and items around our room. It was easy to create something like a door creaking or knocking on wood etc, but I remembered I had one of these things:

Classic 3-Dimensional Pin Art Toy Board Sculptures Silver ...

In consisted of a lot of blunt metal pits that could be pushed back to form around something and create a shape. I however used it to recreate the sounds or rain, crackling or fireworks.

Conclusion

This short task was pretty interesting. It got me to start thinking how foley artists do their work and what props and objects around my room I could use to create audio files for a specific purpose. I am more interested in trying to create unique or strange sounds, it feels more like a challenge rather than just recording simple boring sounds.

Leave a comment