Modelling a Barrel

We are going to be using our existing knowledge of Maya and the tools in it to model and texture a barrel. This is to increase the speed of our work flow and we are going to customise our barrel in Substance Painter.

We modeled the barrel shape in Maya, using the front perspective to get the right proportions. We then used the insert edge loop tool to create more edges and round out the barrel shape. We also used this tool to create faces for the metal straps of the barrel.

We used the vertex tool to realign the edges of the barrel and add more disproportion to the metal straps.

Next we ID mapped the barrel, using different materials for different segments of the barrel and giving them different colours to make texturing the barrel easier in Substance Painter. During this process, I had to double check which faces I had selected as I was giving different parts of the barrel the wrong material.

Then we imported the ID map and Low map into Substance Painter and baked our maps in texture set settings. We then began to texture and colour the barrel appropriately, using different layers and groups.

Conclusion

I was unable to finish this workshop in time due to self-isolation. However, my next step was to add texture and colour to the metal bands to make it look like gold around the barrel. I struggled with ID mapping the barrel because colours (such as red) would end up going over onto some of the barrel’s small faces. I had to double check this before I could export the ID map.

Leave a comment