Combining Genres

Introduction

For this task I have to combine one of my genres from my asset pack research blog with my ancient civilisation research blog. So I have decided to attempt to combine ancient Greece with a post apocalyptic genre. For this task, I will be producing some traditional sketches of some initial concept ideas I get from merging these two diverse genres together.

For the first few concept sketches I wanted to get a general idea for how the buildings would look. I sketches a typical Greek building with marble pillars, except I added some greenery, trees, vines and bushes to make the building appear as if it’s overgrown and neglected. Next, I added some further details by cracking and breaking away at some of the marble pillars. I then added a little detail to the ground such as rubble and rocks. The overall colour of the structure has decolourised over time.

Underneath, I began to draw some concept sketches for Greek weaponry. I wanted the weapons to be overgrown and abandoned similar to the building above. However, I wanted to show signs of some sort of infection spreading. So I created a disease-like organism that can be seen throughout the page, it has spread across the blade of the battle axe and straight through the middle of the page. Here are some close up images of both sections of the page;

Next, I plan to draw some mythical Greek creature such as Medusa or a Phoenix etc that is showing signs of severe infection so that I can further merge ancient Greece with the post apocalyptic genre. Afterwards, I could possibly create a few sketches for the survivors of this scenario and how they have adapted to the situation. (e.g. Mad Max or Fallout reference).

Conclusion

Combining these two ideas was interesting but not very exciting. Rather, I went on to draw concepts for other combined genres for our group work such as post-apocalyptic robots. This process helped me begin to think creatively again and ways of mixing my ideas.

Leave a comment