Asset Pack Research

Introduction

For this task, we had to research and create mood boards for four different genres that we could use as inspiration for our asset packs. We have to go into depth about why we have chosen the genres we like and explain the reasoning behind the images used on our mood boards.

WILD WEST

My first mood board is based on the wild west. I have chosen this as my first mood board as I have played games like Red Dead Redemption and Red Dead Redemption 2 and I like the old western aesthetic a lot. I have included screenshots from the Red Dead game franchise such as the towns and cities in the game, and some of the game’s wildlife and terrain as I feel this gives a good feel of the genre and these images include a lot of example of some of the finer details such as benches, windows, wooden framing etc that can be referenced in an asset pack.

I have also included images such as skulls and campfires to accentuate the element of the wilderness and the old rustic theme that the wild west has. I have added images of the terrain, varying from relatively flat and smooth land with shrubs and cacti to the towering rock formations and mountains. I included how the western land is occupied not only by towns and cities but by farm land, which emphasises the importance of self sufficiency during the western period.

POST APOCALYPTIC

Mad Max Fury Road – the UK car version | carwow
Mad Max: Fury Road' Guitar Player Has His Own Story
EXCLUSIVE First Look: The Cars of “Mad Max: Fury Road”

For my second genre, I wanted to explore the post apocalyptic genre and it’s aesthetics. The general aesthetic for this genre is overgrown or abandoned cities and buildings, rust and decay. I used some video game references such as Fallout 4 and The Last of Us. I also used references from the movie Mad Max. Another feature commonly seen in this genre alongside the element of decay, corruption and neglect is the concept of creatures such as the Clickers found in the Last of Us, as some form of zombie virus spreads throughout the city. I included images of The Last of Us scenery, where building and concrete structures are commonly seen collapsed and overgrown.

An asset pack inspired by this genre would have a lot of decay, overgrown objects consumed by nature, perhaps a biological growth or maybe even a sunken city, where seaweed and barnacles stick to everything. The buildings would be cracked and rotten, or made of scrap materials such as metal panels like the image in the bottom right.

EGYPTIANS

There’s a lot I like about this genre. Firstly, I’m a sucker for Egyptian gods such as Anubis, or Horus. I love the way they are depicted and how people have recreated their own versions of these gods. I also like how Egyptians have so much unique history, such as hieroglyphs, pyramids, sphinx statues. In my mood board, I have included various structures that have beige, sandy pillars and walls covered in hieroglyphs and symbols, some with colours, some without. The genre overall has a very hot, sandy and dry aesthetic, minimal clothing is worn to combat the heat and the buildings are made of stone, thin cloth is used for decals and the harsh terrain allows for camels or horseback as the main method of transport.

I have included images of Assassin’s Creed Origins which is based in Egypt in this third mood board. I have also added some of the weapons, battle axes and shields with an old Egyptian focus. To me, this genre has a lot of myth and mystery. Creating an asset pack around this genre would feature a lot of worn down, old structures and furniture. Sand-covered paths and cloth, crumbling pillars and pyramids contrasted with the pristine condition of the gods, the gold they wear and divine white clothing.

GREEK MYTHOLOGY

For my final mood board, I decided to go with Greek Mythology. I have always been fascinated with Greek mythology, the gods of ancient Greece and the creatures alongside them. This mood board features beasts such as infamous Medusa, Cerberus, Chimera and the Manticore. I have also included the most known Greek god Zeus.

Further research shows us what kind of structures Greek mythology used, the cream-ish white pillars with fine and detailed engravings, supporting large stone ceilings with even more detailed engravings. In addition, I added a few examples of Greek weaponry that could be referenced in an asset pack. God of War is a video game that features some of the Greek gods such as Kratos and Ares. This game also features the world serpent, another huge creature that makes Greek mythology more fascinating.

Leave a comment