Concept Art

For this session, I started brainstorming concept ideas for a tank design. Before I am able to produce a model for the end of this project, I need to get multiple perspectives on my idea. I spent an hour trying to visualise and illustrate the best design idea I could, adjusting and editing any elements I wanted to change.

I like the second design, and I have begun to work on this in MAYA. I think the shapes included are going to be difficult to replicate in MAYA but i’m hoping it’s a good challenge for me. I wanted the tank to look futuristic and low to the ground, and Lee commented that it looked similar to the shape of a shoe. I spent a lot of time erasing and sketching different outcomes before I came to this design. Although it may not be noticeable, some elements of this design were inspired by one of my favourite supercars; fenyr supersport:

Fenyr SuperSport - World Premiere at Dubai Motor Show 2015 ...

I have not drawn any other perspectives of the design yet, but I plan to do so eventually. I intend for the tank to be able to hover and have two cannons alongside themselves.

Conclusion

The concept sketch I have created has helped me model a tank design in Maya. The model isn’t an exact replication of my concept sketch, as I am more limited with Maya than I am with my own drawing skills due to practice and time. I enjoyed working with different perspectives and using some things I like (supercars) in my work.

Leave a comment